Policy and Education Committee

The Policy and Education Committee (PEC) of the Board is established by the Optometry Board of Australia pursuant to Schedule 4, clause 11 of the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law, as in force in each state and territory (the National Law)1.

PEC advises the Board on the following matters with respect to the:

  • review of the current registration standards, codes and guidelines with directions from the Board and via other committees established by the Board
  • develop new policies, registration standards and codes and guidelines as directed by the Board
  • recommend areas to the Board in which registration standards, codes and guidelines are required
  • the administration of the Continuing Professional Development (CPD) program
  • the development and ongoing suitability of criteria for CPD activity accreditation, gaining approved provider status
  • any additions to or removals from the approved provider list of CPD providers
  • any disputes raised by CPD providers regarding rejection of accreditation or the number of CPD points assigned by the Board-approved CPD program administrator, and
  • any other matters that the Board may refer from time to time.

Terms of Reference



Associate Professor Ann Webber

Committee Chair and National Board practitioner member
Dr Carla Abbott National Board practitioner member
Associate Professor Daryl Guest National Board practitioner member
Associate Professor Rosemary Knight National Board community member
Ms Adrienne Farago National Board community member
Mr Derek Fails National Board practitioner member
Mr Garry Fitzpatrick National Board practitioner member

1After a committee structure review in September 2015, the Policy, Standards and Guideline Advisory Committee and the Continuing Professional Development Accreditation Committee integrated to form the Policy and Education Committee.

Page reviewed 21/08/2019