Optometry Board of Australia - Registration


After 1 July 2010, every optometrist registered with a legacy registration board as at 30 June 2010 automatically transitioned to the new national registration and accreditation scheme for registration with the Optometry Board of Australia. The Board keeps an up-to-date public register of all registered optometrists with general, limited and non-practising registration.

Please refer to the registration section of the Ahpra website for further information on the registration process, and information for overseas qualified practitioners is on the Board website.

The Board has recently revised the following document to provide guidance on when it is necessary to be registered as an optometrist.

Registration Types

The optometry registration types are:


Endorsement of registration identifies practitioners with additional qualifications and specific expertise. Further information on the Endorsement for scheduled medicines is found on the Board website.

Who is Ahpra?

The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (Ahpra) supports the 15 National Boards in their role of protecting the public and setting standards and policies that all registered health practitioners must meet.

Ahpra and the National Boards work together to register and renew health practitioners and, where required, investigate complaints or concerns regarding health practitioners.

Ahpra's operations are governed by the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law which came into effect on 1 July 2010. This law applies in each Australian state and territory, and is sometimes referred to on our sites as ‘the National Law’.

All health practitioners registered to practise are included on the national register of practitioners which is managed by Ahpra.

Find out more about Ahpra.

Page reviewed 8/11/2021