Optometry Board of Australia - Optometry Board Members
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

Optometry Board Members

Judith Hannan

Mrs Judith Hannan (Irvine)

Chair and health practitioner from New South Wales

  • BOptom, MBA

Judith Hannan (Irvine) is a primary care optometrist who owned and ran her private practice for many years until transferring her practices to her partner optometrist. Since then she has been a locum in the south west area of Sydney in private practice, industrial consulting and corporate practices.

Judith is on Wollondilly Council and is a member of many committees. She is a member of the Optometry Council of NSW and the Australian Hand Therapy Association, Accreditation Committee. She has qualifications in business and mediation. Previously, she has been the president of a group of Councils in the Macarthur region and was the lead person in the Western Sydney City Deal collaborating between three levels of government.

Judith has been awarded for her medical advocacy work for the introduction of a cancer therapy drug to PBS.

She has been on the Optometry Board for three years.

Stuart Aamodt

Mr Stuart Aamodt

Health practitioner from Western Australia

  • BOptom(Hons), PGCOT, BEcons

Stuart Aamodt is an owner and principal optometrist in a large, growing franchised optometry practice. He has worked in independent, corporate, public and remote optometry settings across Australia and overseas. Prior to studying optometry, Stuart completed a degree in economics and worked for a financial institution as a credit analyst.

Stuart has mentored optometry students on externship for the last four years. He has a keen interest in the delivery of optometric services to remote and indigenous communities in Western Australia.

Stuart’s board experience includes a previous role on the Optometry Association Board (Victoria Division).

Carla Abbott

Dr Carla Abbott

Health practitioner from Victoria

  • BOptom, PhD, PostGradDipOcTher, FACO

Dr Abbott is a therapeutically-endorsed optometrist who has primarily worked in academia and public health for the past 15 years. She is a research fellow with the Centre for Eye Research Australia conducting translational research studies and is a consultant optometrist and teaching clinician at the Australian College of Optometry.

As part of her research training, Dr Abbott has completed post-doctoral fellowships at the Save Sight Institute (University of Sydney) and Devers Eye Institute (Oregon, USA). She has also worked in private optometry practice including in country Victoria. Dr Abbott has served as a director on the Council of the Australian College of Optometry (2010-11), and was an auditor of continuing professional development for the Optometry Council of Australia and New Zealand (OCANZ; 2015-17). As a teaching clinician for over 10 years at the Australian College of Optometry, Dr Abbott has supervised students from different optometry schools in Australia and New Zealand and has been an examiner for the OCANZ overseas-trained optometrist exams. She is also a member of the Optometry Australia age-related macular degeneration clinical practice guide working group (2018).

Anthony Evans

Mr Anthony Evans

Community member

  • BBus, DipEd

Anthony Evans has extensive financial and general management experience as a senior executive and board director in the health, aged care, education, resources and not-for-profit sectors.

His roles in the health sector have included being a board member of Perth Primary Care Network and Therapeutic Guidelines.

GRAHAM Ben - Optometry Board member

Mr Benjamin Graham

Community member

Benjamin has worked for several peak bodies and professional associations in healthcare, agriculture and migration since 2007. Much of his experience working in these organisations has focused on communication, marketing, membership, media and business development work.

Benjamin has also served as an Interim CEO, General Manager and Executive Director during his time working in the associations sector. Benjamin has been a Director on several not-for-profit boards including serving as Chair, Company Secretary and Chair of Corporate Governance sub-committees.

Currently Benjamin is extending his skillset working for the Australian Government in communication and administrative roles.

Rosemary Knight

Associate Professor Rosemary Knight

Community member

Associate Professor Rosemary Knight recently retired from the position of Principal Adviser in the Commonwealth Department of Health. Previously, she was Head of the School of Public Health and Community Medicine in the Medicine Faculty at UNSW.

Rosemary has worked for thirty years in the health sector providing expert advice, teaching and mentoring, supporting research, doing policy and program development and guiding implementation and evaluation. Her public health experience is highly varied. It includes workforce, primary care, information management, healthcare financing, quality use of medicines, chronic diseases and populations at risk.

She has a particular interest in health policy, cancer, indigenous health and health services research, as well as translating evidence into practice. She has a passionate commitment to improve health outcomes for all Australians, best achieved by effective collaborative relationships across the whole community with input from health professionals, educators, governments, consumers and citizens. She also has a desire to help, support and contribute to the wider community in this next phase of her life.

Martin Robinson - Optometry Board member

Mr Martin Robinson

Health practitioner from Tasmania


  • BAppSc(Optom)

Being in the graduate class of 1994 from QUT, Martin originally worked in country Queensland. This included fly in, fly out work in concert with Dr Gary Brian of the Fred Hollows Foundation in remote Aboriginal and Torres Strait communities. He also worked with corneal surgeons, fitting RGP contact lenses to post graft corneas.

In 2006 he made his way south to Hobart for a slower pace of life.

Since 2009 he has been owner and principal optometrist in his own independent optometry practice. He has a keen interest in contact lenses and dry eye, speaking at conferences and writing education pieces for optometrists. Martin has mentored optometry students on externship for several universities for several years.

Since 2017 he has been Tasmanian state president of the Cornea and Contact Lens Society of Australia (CCLSA), and National Vice President of the CCLSA since 2018.


Miss Renee Slunjski

Health practitioner from South Australia


  • BMedSc(VisSc), MOptom, CertOcTher

Renee Slunjski is a therapeutically endorsed optometrist from South Australia. She has six years experience in general, independent practice in Adelaide, as well as having worked with remote Indigenous communities in the APY Lands and Pt Augusta. She has practiced in the Riverland, Perth, Nepal and at the State University of New York as part of her university placements. Currently, Renee is using her clinical knowledge as a product specialist for a retinal imaging company.

Renee has a Graduate Certificate in Management, and is working towards completing her Masters in Business Administration. Combined with her unique background and commitment to quality eye care, Renee is committed to ensuring safe and equitable care for all Australians.

Page reviewed 18/01/2013