

Communiqué

The 65th meeting of the Optometry Board of Australia (the Board) was held on 30 July 2015 at the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) national office in Melbourne.

This communiqué outlines the issues and decisions from this meeting as well as other points of interest. We publish it on our website and email it to a broad range of stakeholders. Please forward it to your colleagues and employees who may be interested.

Infection control policy retired

The Board has identified upon a scheduled review of its infection control policy to retire the policy from circulation. The Board would like to remind optometrists of the principles and obligations in the <u>Code of</u> <u>conduct</u> that guide practitioners to adhere to the expected standards of optometry practice.

National Board appointments announced

Australian health ministers have recently announced new three-year appointments and reappointments for the National Boards. Ian Bluntish has been appointed to the Optometry Board of Australia as Chair (first term) and practitioner member (third term) from South Australia. Current members of the Optometry Board of Australia, Ms Jane Duffy OAM, Mr Derek Fails and Mr Garry Fitzpatrick have been reappointed for a third term and Ms Adrienne Farago has been reappointed for a second term.

The Board congratulates the new members who have been appointed for their first term from 31 August:

- Mr Anthony Evans appointed as a community member
- Assoc Prof Daryl Guest appointed as a practitioner member from Tasmania
- Assoc Prof Rosemary Knight appointed as a community member, and
- Dr Ann Webber appointed as a practitioner member from Queensland.

The Board thanks and congratulates its retiring members on their diligence, passion and commitment to the regulation of the optometry profession over a significant number of years, including before the start of the National Scheme in 2010.

We thank the following members who will finish their terms in August:

- Mr Colin Waldron (Chair and practitioner member from Queensland)
- Mr John Davis (practitioner member from New South Wales)
- Ms Peta Frampton (community member from Queensland), and
- Mr Lawson Lobb (community member from the Australian Capital Territory).

A full list of appointments for the National Boards is available in the <u>Australian Health Workforce</u> <u>Ministerial Council communiqué from 6 July 2015</u>.

Brien Holden

Members of the Board were deeply saddened to hear of the sudden death of Brien Holden. Brien, CEO of the Brien Holden Vision Institute and Professor at the School of Optometry and Vision Science at University New South Wales, was a pioneer, visionary and leader in the optometry profession who was instrumental in improving the outcomes for the eye health of many Australians and beyond. He leaves a significant legacy as the result of his dedication to furthering research to improve the optometry knowledge for the benefit of all.

Audit of registration standards

The National Law requires the Board to set ethical and professional standards for the optometry profession and gives the Board the power to hold practitioners to account against those standards.

The Board's audit into compliance with the following mandatory registration standards:

- continuing professional development
- recency of practice
- professional indemnity insurance arrangements, and
- criminal history.

has started and is progressing well. Overall compliance has been good to date and the Board will report on any significant issues that arose as part of the audit.

Health profession agreement and fees

The health profession agreement (HPA) between the Board and the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) is being finalised and will be published on the Board's website soon. It sets out the services that AHPRA will provide to support the Board to regulate the optometry profession. The HPA will provide information about the Board's financial operations and fees.

Security tip - keep your web browser updated

AHPRA and the National Boards have made changes to our websites to ensure your information is kept safe.

If you are using Internet Explorer version 6 (or an older version) to view the Board's website and are experiencing difficulty accessing web pages and online services, the Board recommends you <u>upgrade to</u> the newest version of Internet Explorer immediately. It is available for free from Microsoft.

If you are using a new version of Internet Explorer and are still having difficulty accessing our website please contact us to report your experience.

Call 1300 419 495 Monday to Friday, 9:00am – 5:00pm (Australian Eastern Standard Time).

Updating contact details

To check or update your contact details, go to the online services panel for practitioners on the homepage of the Board's website and click on the relevant link. Enter your user ID, date of birth and password to access your account. Please note that your user ID is not your registration number. If you cannot remember your user ID or password, contact us online or call 1300 419 495.

Further information

We publish a range of information about registration and our expectations of you as an optometrist on our website at <u>www.optometryboard.gov.au</u> or <u>www.ahpra.gov.au</u>.

For more detail or questions about your registration or renewal please send an online enquiry form or contact AHRPA on 1300 419 495.

Colin Waldron

Chair, Optometry Board of Australia

25 August 2015